Looking for guidance for a watch winder project.

I've done a lot of searching about this subject, and it almost always is a poster asking for help, getting some advice and never following up. I'll try not to do that. I decided to pick up this project because it seems simple enough to build something that rotate an adjustable amount, and I believe that throughout all the tutorials I've actually have all the pieces to do this project.

I've gotten an Arduino kit from Dfrobot.com and I've finally cracked it open this summer. I've gone through all the tutorials from controlling LEDs, various sensors, servo, 130 motor etc. a full list of items the kit has is in this url: https://www.dfrobot.com/product-345.html . Scroll down to shipping list.

My initial plan: I plan on using the below items for this project. It would be neat if I could use electronics solely from the kit , but I am not against buying any missing parts. I am extremely new at this, so my plans might require massive revisions. My initial plan is to mount a cylinder that will hold the watch in place while it turns. Here's an image of what I will try to make: https://www.versawatchwinders.com/images/products/versa/vr001/vr001-black-open.jpg .

DC motor: I decided to use the DC motor rather than the servo because the servo is very noisy and doesn't do more than 180 degrees. I understand the servo is a better option because the servo has ways to track position for counting rotation but the noise and not doing more than 180 degrees makes it a bad choice. Please let me know if there's a better solution for this and I'm willing to buy any alternatives. Also, I have no idea how I will mount this cylinder to the motor and whether it will have enough torque to rotate it.

IR remote + IR receiver: Why not? My kit came with one, and I plan on using it to remotely switching between presets of different turn speeds as well as putting it into standby.