Looking for help parsing data into a struct

I am still new to C so I am working on the assumption that I dont know something. Any help and pointers would be greatly appreciated.

I have a struct that contains configuration data. It consists of a couple of booleans, a bunch of Byte types, and three char arrays.

I am trying to figure out how to take the data from a HTTP POST and put it into the correct parts of the struct, without using all my Flash memory. lol

So the data comes in as a String that contains "data1=on&data2=off&byte1=128&byte2=256" etc.

The order is fixed, so it will always contain the same field=data in the same order. I need to parse that data out and put it into the correct places in the struct.

For example: data1=on goes into storage.data1 which is a boolean.

I started by indexing the String on "&" and then passing the entry to a function that indexes that String on the "=" followed by running it through a ton of IF statements. However that is very inefficient and sucks up memory.

Is there a programmatic way to do this?

So, to add more data to it.

struct Configuration {
  char version[4];
  bool dhcp;
  bool ctlpage;
  byte ip[4];
  byte gw[4];
  byte nm[4];
  byte dns[4];
  char hostname[9];
  char user1[22];
  char user2[22];
}

The received HTTP POST would be something along the lines of

"dhcp=on&ctlpage=off&ip1=192&ip2=168&ip3=1&ip4=120"etc,etc. continued out for all the entries.

I am doing this on an Arduino Mini (ATMega328)

Thanks for all the help and/or pointers.

So the data comes in as a String

No, it does not. It comes in as a series of characters. Quit stuffing them in a String. Use a NULL terminated array of chars, instead. That approach uses far less memory, AND makes using strtok() and atoi() possible and easy.

Again, Still real new to this but let me see if I understand what you are saying.

Rather than using a String, which is what all the example code I found uses, I should use a char array and strtok() to parse it.