Loop() Function Question

Hi all,

I am new to the Arduino and I have come up with some code that I don’t understand. I’m not looking to “fix” my code, merely understand what is happening.

What is the second loop() function doing in the code posted at the bottom of this post? I was going through the starter projects book and just finished the second project. For those that don’t know: there are two red lights, a green light and a switch. The original code was designed such that the neutral state would be to have the green light only on. When the switch was pressed, the green light would turn off, one red light would turn on and the other red light would blink for as long as the switch was pressed.

Leaving the circuit the same, I was playing around the code and came up with something that is giving me weird behaviour. I think it stems from me not understanding how the loop() function works.

With the code below, when the button is held, the green light flashes until the button is released. That part I get. What is weird however is that when the switch is released, the code starts from the beginning like it should when the switch is off (i.e. switchState == LOW) and turns on the green light but once it does that, the code executes all the code in the else statement that was after the loop() function.

For example. I start with no switch pressed. There is a solid green light. I press and hold the switch. The green light flashes for as long as I’m holding the switch, let’s say 15 cycles of on and off. When I release the button, the green light turns on and then the first red light will turn on and the second red light will flash the same number of times the green light flashed.

I guess I have two questions: What happens when the loop() is called in the else statement and how does the code “store” the remaining code and know to execute it the correct number of times after the else statement is false?