Loop Question

Hi,

I am trying to get used to the Arduino programming but am finding it tough to debug a program once the error is a runtime type and it runs off the Board. Any better alternative to debugging?

Anyway, my real problem is around the loop functionality. I am used to using them in other environments but I cannot figure this one out. I noted that the loop runs once only and the while loop doesn’t repeat itself. I tried a much simpler listing and it worked, but not this one. I also tried For and Do loops to no avail. It seems to be with the way this program is setup. Could be bad programming as I’m a newbie in this environment.

I am running it off a Mega2560, lcd 16x2 and IIC2. The silly lcd.print statements in the listing were set up for me to determine on the lcd where it is getting stuck and it is displaying:
Row 1 - “1232” from column 0
Row 2 - “stuck1” from column 8

and repeating it with the delays. It is hence not incrementing xx variable (the “2” in column 3 row 1).

Code follows. Help is appreciated.

thanks

#include <Wire.h>
 #include <LCD.h>
 #include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>  // F Malpartida's NewLiquidCrystal library

#define  LED_OFF  0
#define  LED_ON  1
LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x27, 2, 1, 0, 4, 5, 6, 7, 3, POSITIVE);

int xx;
int previousVal;
int minimumVal;
int mVal;
long totalVal;

void setup()
{
   lcd.begin (16,2);  // initialize the lcd
   lcd.backlight();

}

void loop()
{ 

lcd.clear();
        totalVal=0;
//        x=1;
    while (xx<10){  
    mVal=analogRead(1);

if(xx=1)
      {
        minimumVal=mVal;
       lcd.setCursor(8,1);
      lcd.print("stuck");
      lcd.print(xx);
      delay(300);
      lcd.clear();
      delay(300);
      }
    else
       {
       minimumVal=min(previousVal,mVal);

lcd.setCursor(8,1);
      lcd.print("unstuck");
      lcd.print(xx);
      delay(300);
      lcd.clear();
      delay(300);

}
    lcd.setCursor(0,0);
    lcd.print("1");

previousVal=mVal;
    lcd.print("2");
    totalVal=totalVal+mVal;