LoRa // or alternatives? Transmit data from sensor to database/gateway

Hi,

I'm very new to Arduino. But I have a mission - but I hit the wall. And need some help/ explanation.

Short: I want output form a sensor, to be sent to a database (preferably by LoRa - for coverage and prices)

I have an Arduino that has a temp/humidity sensor attached.
I can easily get the output to a display directly on the same Arduino board. But I would like to have that sensor located at a different location. (within range of the LoRa)

The goal is that the sensor should be as small as possible, and low power. So preferably just with an integrated battery.

Please see my drawing for an explanation.

So; How do I accomplish my goal? I'm open to other technologies as long as it's cheap and provide long-range. I know there should be a gateway for the LoRa - but how do I create this - this should be used within the same building but wifi and Bluetooth is unavailable.

Thanks for any advice!

The term 'Gateway' in the context of LoRa is usually used to describe a LoRa receiver that passes the received data onwards to a network connected database of some type.

The Things Network (TTN) is an example of this, a multichannel Gateway receives the LoRa packets and forwards them onward across the Internet to various on-line database services.

You seem to just want a LoRa receiver, although you dont make clear how the receiver is going to forward the packets to this 'database' with no available network connections.

Firstly, I think you need to define "long range"?