Losing faith already

Hi guys,
I'm a newbie here. I watched some vids online a few days ago about the Arduino and loved what I saw. I have no background in electronics at all and am fairly low level when it comes to programming but have a real will to learn ( at the mo I am concentrating mainly on Java).
I picked up the Franzis Arduino Tutorial Kit last night from my local Maplins store. It comes with a breadboard (without the + and - rails I see on almost all videos online) and some LED's, resistors etc. Anyway I successfully managed to complete project 1 (blink LED) without using the breadboard, just plugging the LED into pin 13 and ground etc with the basic code being used in Sketch.
Anyway... I am totally stumped when it comes to project 2, fading LED's and digitalRead all seem a little too far advanced for me. I guess the other thing is that almost every book/video (even beginner ones) seem to think you have a fairly extensive background in electronics etc so don't really tell you much about what resistors to use... the ones they have are totally different colours to the ones I've got so that doesn't help.
I am beginning to think (after spending the whole of last night and all of today so far that there is no real support for actual beginners in how to use this stuff. When you have a breadboard without the rails that everyone uses, that already throws you off. Also it says in the manual... Open the terminal which is found under tools in the Arduino IDE. I'm guessing they mean Sketch when they say IDE? I don't have any terminal there at all, nothing on the cd that it came with either. Can't even seem to download Hyperterminal off a website (this was just mentioned on a quick google search) and nobody even talks about the Franzis Tutorial Kit.