Lost in code: voltage controlled LEDs

Hi,
I am new here and right off the batt I have to say I have no knowledge about programming.
I am trying to put up the code for a simple behaviour:

Arduino listens on one of it's pins for voltage. If the voltage is higher then... the corresponding LED lights up. When the voltage is lower, again, the other LED lights up. That is simple. But I am trying to bring up the light gradually. And here the problem starts.

No matter what I try, Arduino senses the voltage and regarding of the threshold it executes fading up the corresponding diode. But then it kind of gets stuck. When I change the voltage, nothing happens. I came that far that it will react when I change the voltage from higher to lower and higher voltage LED stops lighting, the lower voltage LED fades up but it does not work the other way (from lower voltage back to higher). Even though the code for both LEDs is identical (except slightly different variable names). What's going on?

#define ledHigh 3
#define ledLow 5
int fadeValueUp1 = 0;
int fadeValueUp2 = 0;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(ledHigh, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(ledHigh, LOW);

pinMode(ledLow, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(ledLow, LOW);

}

void loop() {

batLow();
  batCharging();

}
void batLow() {
  int sensorValue = analogRead(A0); //read the A0 pin value
  float voltage1 = sensorValue * (5.00 / 1023.00) * 2; //convert the value to a true voltage.
  if (voltage1 < 2.00 && fadeValueUp1 != 254) //set the voltage considered low battery here
  {

if (fadeValueUp1 > 250)
    int fadeValueUp1 = 0;
    while (fadeValueUp1 < 255) {

fadeValueUp1++;
      Serial.println(fadeValueUp1);
      analogWrite(ledLow, fadeValueUp1);
      delay (10);
      if (fadeValueUp1 == 254) {
        break;
      }
    }

} 
} 

void batCharging() {
  int sensorValue = analogRead(A0); //read the A0 pin value
  float voltage2 = sensorValue * (5.00 / 1023.00) * 2; //convert the value to a true voltage.