Lot of noise on my encoder

I have never worked with Encoder's before, though I've read and learnt a lot about them. I just both a few from seeedstudio and decided to test them on my breadboard. The datasheet for the ones I am using is here: http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/datasheet/RotEncoderSpec002.jpg

The instructions basicly state to attach the COM to ground and pull up A and B to 5V with 10K resistors, which I am doing. I am not testing the button input on the encoders.

Th code I am using is essentially a modified version of the one on the playground. Here is the playground code (I am on another computer and don't have access to my exact code):

/* Read Quadrature Encoder
  * Connect Encoder to Pins encoder0PinA, encoder0PinB, and +5V.
  * Sketch by max wolf / www.meso.net
  * v. 0.1 - very basic functions - mw 20061220
  */  

int val; 
 int encoder0PinA = 3;
 int encoder0PinB = 4;
 int encoder0Pos = 0;
 int encoder0PinALast = LOW;
 int n = LOW;

void setup() { 
   pinMode (encoder0PinA,INPUT);
   pinMode (encoder0PinB,INPUT);
   Serial.begin (9600);
 } 

void loop() { 
   n = digitalRead(encoder0PinA);
   if ((encoder0PinALast == LOW) && (n == HIGH)) {
     if (digitalRead(encoder0PinB) == LOW) {
       encoder0Pos--;
     } else {
       encoder0Pos++;
     }
     Serial.print (encoder0Pos);
     Serial.print ("/");
   } 
   encoder0PinALast = n;
 }

I modified the code to use an interupt on for A on pin 3. I didn't put PIN B on an interrupt as I only want to count for when A goes from low to high (since I only want to count the detents - 20 per revolution).

However, when I rotate in one direction my ouput is all skewed. It should come out like:

0/1/2/3/4/5/6/7

but it comes out like:

0/1/0/1/0/2/3/4/3/2/1/2/3/4