Lots of little lights

I just got an Arduino Mega 2560 and I want to build my first, and extremely basic, midi controller with it. Just 16 rotary pots with the analog ins, and then I want to use the digital ports for LED back lighting. Please excuse me for knowing so little about circuits, electricity, and electronics in general; I am very new to this. How many LEDs can I power with one digital out on the Arduino? Would I need to use resistors for each LED on a single output? I've got 50 outs, and I want to use as many lights as possible, but I do not want to cause any damage of course. What about the pwm's? I understand how these work, I've done some very basic led dimming/blinking with them. Can they handle more or less then the other digital outs? Also, I am planning to use Max for Live to convert the serial to midi in ableton, and then simply assigning the knobs to various parameters. Will the Mega be able to handle 16 analog pots and all 50 digital ports controlling LEDs? All insight is thoroughly appreciated!

So many questions in one post.
Yes, a Mega can do whatever you can dream up. It might just need a little external help to do that.
Please explain what YOU think a MIDI controller has to do, because to me it's rather vague.
And yes, a Mega can control as many LEDs as you want. Thousands of them. Maybe more.
But not the way you describe it.
Every output can drive a LED with a series resistor, but there is a limit to the total current the Mega can handle.
Better to use e.g. a digital RGB LED strip. The whole strip can be controlled by just one or two output pins.

Leo..

Thanks Wawa,