Low frequency periodic signal with duty cycle regulation

Hello,
In order to command a pneumatic electro-valve, I need to generate a periodic signal with a frequency of 3 to 10 Hertz, and I need to have a duty cycle depending on a fixed "high" time (which I can get trough calculation and regulate with a potentiometer)
so basically I need to generate a periodic signal of 3 to 10Hz with a modifiable duty cycle.
My problem is that PWM can't generate such low frequencies, and with classic timers code, I have a fixed duty cycle of 50 % ....
As I'm quite new to coding, don't know the right keywords for the fonctions I need, so if there's already a tutorial about this, just give me the link.

Many thanks in advance for your help

Hi,

With such a low frequency signal you can use even "delay" to get it.

Does the previous advice make any sense to you? (just to have an idea of what your skills are).

Best regards.

Hello, thanks for your advice, I already have a working code with delay(), but I have to use sensors while the periodic signal is emitted, so delays are quite annoying to do this…

Alexandre_Gilardot:
so basically I need to generate a periodic signal of 3 to 10Hz with a modifiable duty cycle.
My problem is that PWM can't generate such low frequencies, and with classic timers code, I have a fixed duty cycle of 50 % ....

Any thoughts about the timing resolution?
Is one millisecond enough?
Do you need a smaller timing resolution?

Let's say, 1 millisecond is OK, then you could do that:

• Use a timer to fire 1000 interrupts per second
  • Define your cycle duration (100 with 10Hz, 333 with 3 Hz)
  • Calculate duty cycle in milliseconds
  • Do some calculations and output setting in the interrrupt handling

So if you want 10 Hz and 30% duty cycle, you let your interrupt handling

• count up
  • if counter at 100 ==> new cycle begins, set counter=0, set output high
  • if counter at 30 (30% of 100) ==> set output low