Low frequency radio transmitter

Hello,

I am working on a project for an embedded systems class that will be using rf signals to help triangulate an autonomous car in a 6ft X 6ft area. I am aware of some of the different rf modules that allow the arduino to send data at 433MHz. However, I don't need to send specific data, I just need to output a constant radio frequency that another arduino could listen for.

If I wanted to create a 300 Hz signal, could I attach a wire to one of the arduino pins and constantly pulse that pin 300 times a second? Would I need any amplification to be able to see this signal on another arduino?

I am new to rf and do not have much experience with it but thought this would be a fun project to work on. Any help is greatly appreciated!

thanks!

cstang:
Hello,

I am working on a project for an embedded systems class that will be using rf signals to help triangulate an autonomous car in a 6ft X 6ft area. I am aware of some of the different rf modules that allow the arduino to send data at 433MHz. However, I don’t need to send specific data, I just need to output a constant radio frequency that another arduino could listen for.

If I wanted to create a 300 Hz signal, could I attach a wire to one of the arduino pins and constantly pulse that pin 300 times a second? Would I need any amplification to be able to see this signal on another arduino?

I am new to rf and do not have much experience with it but thought this would be a fun project to work on. Any help is greatly appreciated!

thanks!

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.
The problem will be the size of the aerials and ablility of them to be directional.
300Hz would require a very large aerial for the transmitter, and the receiver aerial likewise, especially if you want them to be directional.
An ideal aerial 1/4 wavelength at 300Hz = 250,000 meters long.
Even loading a shorter aerial would be not be practical for your application.
Tom… :slight_smile:

cstang:
Hello,