Low latency RF transceiver with good wall penetration

Hi all,

I am a beginner to electronics and have a few quick question. I am interested in creating a device that can measure time differences remotely, with as low latency as possible. I was thinking about using an RF tranceiver for this.

The requirements are the following:

1. It should be able to penetrate through lots of walls (or ceilings) and send a signal 15-20 meters.

2. It does not have to have a lot of throughput.

3. It must have very low latency. The transmitter must reliably be able to trigger the receiver at-least, say, 10 times faster than the speed of sound in air (~ 343m/s).

4. Power consumption is not an issue.

The idea is that I have a vibration at location A propagating to location B (<20m apart), and I want to measure this propagation time. Unit 1 at location A detects a vibration and sends a signal to unit 2 at location B. Unit 2 starts a timer. When unit 2 detects the vibration, it will stop the timer and then know the time difference.

I was thinking about using RF to start the timer at Unit 2, as they travel with the speed on light, thus much faster than the speed I want to measure. I was thinking about using NRF24 for this, but I am not sure it can send signals through 3-4 floors. There seem to be lower frequency modules with better wall penetration, but I fear that they have too much latency.

Can I use a NRF24 for this purpose? If not, any better suggestion?

Thanks for the help.

Can you get a WiFi signal through those walls? Then RF24 is likely to work.

Otherwise look at lower frequencies. As a rule of thumb the lower the frequency the better the penetration. A pair of HC-12 modules (433 MHz) may do the job.

Everything of course depends on the walls/floors in question.

For minimal latency use a wired connection.

Do appreciate that walls (and ceilings) vary greatly in how transparent they are to RF.

And the forum has no idea how many is ‘lots’