Low-side switching of buck converter?

I've been trying to help on another thread, but have come up with nothing. It's a timelapse controller for a DSLR. The Arduino GPIO controls an N-channel mosfet, which in turn connects the low side of an adjustable buck converter module to ground. It's a 12V supply regulated down to 7.5V. The output of the module connects to the power jack on the camera. The shutter is triggered through an optical isolator, and seems to work fine. The buck converter module and timelapse circuit schematics are shown below.

The circuit seems to work fine for a while, but then just stops working. Or the module stays on all the time. It works better, but still flakes out eventually, when set up on a breadboard - as opposed to a PC board where everything is closer together. I believe he confirmed that if he replaces the module with an LED and resistor, there's no problem. So I think the code is ok.

Well to cut this short - I have no experience with low-side switching of a buck converter. Is that something that shouldn't be done? Why would that be?

Correct!
If you switch the low side you are disconnecting the ground, the input voltage is then free to appear at the output and the result will be unpredictable.

What do you think pin 5 on the LM2596 does?

Well, he has a module, and I'm not sure he can get to pin 5. Maybe he could lift the pin.

I still don't understand about the low side switching. I understand that the module will drift up to 12V if ground is disconnected, but it's not really referenced to anything, so I'm not sure why it matters. I've never tried to do this, but as I understand it, N-channels have much lower RDS values than the P-channels I'm used to, and that's the appeal of low-side switching.

I think he's planning to use an adjustable linear regulator with enable, and do away with the mosfet. But if he can get to pin5 of the LM2596, that would be the easiest solution. Thanks for pointing that out.