Mac - avrdude - Programmer not responding

Hi- I'm new to Arduino and I'm working on one of the examples in Banzi's Getting Started with Arduino book and I got the following error message:

Binary sketch size: 1640 bytes (of a 32256 byte maximum) avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

Shortly after this, my Mac displayed an error message that the Arduino that was plugged in the USB port was draining too much power. I find this hard to believe since it's only 5 volts.

In doing some research, it appears that some Mac users are having similar sorts of problems but I haven't had any luck in getting fixes. I have OS X 10.6.8 Any ideas? Thanks

Volts are not the same as amps. "Too much power" is draining too many milliamps.

Did you plug into a USB hub? If so, try plugging into the back of the Mac directly.

Thanks for responding. I’ve got it working again. I think what may have caused that error message is the circuit I created. I’m new to circuit and breadboards, etc. and I guess I placed the errors in the wrong locations. I’ve attached a photo if it’s helpful. Thanks.

Arduino1.jpg

SurfKauai13: Thanks for responding. I've got it working again. I think what may have caused that error message is the circuit I created. I'm new to circuit and breadboards, etc. and I guess I placed the errors in the wrong locations. I've attached a photo if it's helpful. Thanks.

Hi I am sorry if I necro-ing this threat.

I have the same problem. And until now it is not solved yet. :~ :~

Can you give me hint how you solved this?

n0talentGEEK: I have the same problem. And until now it is not solved yet. :~ :~

Uh, which problem? The avrdude issue (for which there are tons of articles already on it) or the current issue? The current issue is almost always a wiring problem.

[quote author=James C4S link=topic=76169.msg616624#msg616624 date=1323190093]

n0talentGEEK: I have the same problem. And until now it is not solved yet. :~ :~