Mac user needing to run Due on XP - help!

Hi all - I am a total newbie to Arduino, programming and electronics so outs been a struggle

I went to Mac a few years ago but kept my old PC running XP for the odd time I needed software that wouldn't run on Mac.

I am able to connect and upload sketches to the Due using IDE on my Mac but I needed to do the same thing on the PC so i could interface with some PC-only software, that reads the serial output from the Due

I started by downloading latest 1.6.6 IDE which gave all sorts of problems, so then reverted back to 1.6.4 with the Board installation version also 1.6.4

I am still getting strange behaviour and in particular every time I connect or disconnect the board it seems to switch between being recognised as a Bossa Programmer on COM4 to an Arduino Due on COM6. I managed to upload simple Blink example but this flipping between device IDs keeps happening and uploading bigger sketches (that compile OK0 often seems to hang.

Being new I fail also to understand the difference between Native USB and Programming ports.

Can anyone give me a config to use that will work with XP. i.e. which versions of the software, drivers, which port to use etc.

One thing that might be relevant is that I am using USB ports on the front of the PC not those on the rear that are connected direct to mobo. Would that make a difference maybe.

Hardware i don't even begin to understand.

Any help gratefully received.

(oh, one last thought) could I run the Due on the Mac and use the second USB to connect to the PC for the windows software to output it - that might be easier. If so, how do i configure it?)

As far as I am aware, the Due requires Arduino 1.5 or above. (In practise, use 1.6 or above.) This won’t run on a 12-year-old operating system.