Macro buttons to interact with games/computer

Hi everyone, thank you for hopping by,

I'm kind of new to Arduino and I try to learn everything on the go here based on my project. Unfortunately, I've tried many many times but couldn't find how I could realize my project. My project consist of:

• Use a button on my arduino as PTT (push to talk) button for, by example, Teamspeak 3. This button may NOT interact with other things like typing a letter,... because when I push it, it would create a mess.

• Use a switch which can toggle on/off my mic on, by example, Teamspeak 3.

Just know that I've tried it with the Keyboard.h but with my arduino Uno it doesn't work. Now I use the macro-button my keyboard with name 171 which weirdly does nothing so I use it as PTT.

Does anyone have any idea how I can even begin this project, some advise maybe or links, all help is welcome if this project is even possible.

Thank you in advance!

Are there (or can you set) keyboard shortcuts to take those actions in Teamspeak 3?

You need an Arduino with 'native' USB. A Micro, Due, Teensy and a few others will work.

Using keyboard.h is like having a second keyboard plugged into your system. Having it send a key code to the computer is like pressing that key on a second keyboard. For many games, this is OK. If you're actually typing a letter at the time then you don't want the key to appear in the letter.

With all of those above Arduinos you can use them as "HID" Human Interface Devices. Basically like a gamepad or joystick. If Teamspeak can be set up to use a joystick button as the PTT then that will work very well.

@Pert Thank you for your reply; yes, there is a way to do it with key-combinations. Thanks for the tip, now I know at least how I can fix the problem of not interfering with what I'm typing...