Magnetic absolute encoder, AS5600. Some advise please. (SOLVED)

Hi
To make a long story short.. I am giving up on google and reading near related posts.

I want to order AS5600 sensors from AMS for robot steer angles and arm joint angles (angle feed back to DUE board) with I2C protocol.
Data sheet mentions only one I2C address for sensor . From net and lots of read up... seems there is a register that holds a word (pointer) to the one I2C address.

Q. Can you use more than one AS5600 sensor on the same I2c bus?

Being a I2c interface sensor, surely you can use 20 or so AS5600 sensors on same bus.

Note: I am just a electronics hobbyist. Could there be a better sensor for what I am trying to do.. under AUD$5 per sensor?
AS5600 sensor description and data sheet :-\

datasheet - https://ams.com/ger/content/download/639463/1698857/file/AS5600_DS000365_3-00.pdf

The address of the sensor = 0x36

You can use more than one on the I2C bus if you add an I2C multiplexer

check - Overview | Adafruit TCA9548A 1-to-8 I2C Multiplexer Breakout | Adafruit Learning System

Thank you for the post robtillart

' The address of the sensor = 0x36 ' I did see the single address and from your suggestion " if you add an I2C multiplexer" I am let to believe that I cannot use more than one AS5600 on a bus accept if I use a multiplexer.

:cry: Will have to study up on using a I2C multiplexer through arduino code.

:confused: Kind of weird they that they would design an I2C sensor and not make it so that one can use lots of them on the same bus.

You can also put a transistor in the power line of the chip and control it by an IO pin of the Arduino or better from an I2C PCF8574 chip (gives you 8 IO lines…)

Then you just switch of all sensors you do not use and put only one on.

effectively you’re creating a multiplexer

(don’t know side effects like startup time, callibration etc)

Extract from data sheet:

ams Datasheet
Page 13
[v1-04] 2016-Sep-09
Document Feedback
*AS5600 − *