Mailbox notification project

Hi- I'm new to electronics but have some experience with Arduino. I'm looking to build a simple transmitter / receiver to notify me when my mail has arrived. The mailbox is about 2000 feet away from my house, with other houses blocking the line of sight. The mailbox is one in a bank of boxes, serving my entire street.

My initial idea was to use a photo-resistor, since the box sits dark most of the time and light floods in when the mailbox panel is opened. Ideally, not much power would be drawn while the mailbox is dark. Since I don't want to freak out the mail carrier, I was thinking of putting the whole thing in a padded envelope addressed to me that I could just place in the box on the days I want to be notified.

I've Googled some transmitter / receiver pairs for the Arduino and the HC-12 seems like a possibility, although it has more capability than I need, since I don't need to do serial communication. Also, I'm not sure if its range is quite enough, and it uses 5 volts.

There's one on Sparkfun (RFM22B) that lists its range as 600 meters but I'm wondering if that will be quite enough.

As you can probably tell, I'm inexperienced so any guidance insofar as what to get and how to set it up would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, John

John0544:
Since I don’t want to freak out the mail carrier, I was thinking of putting the whole thing in a padded envelope addressed to me that I could just place in the box on the days I want to be notified.

A far better choice is to just let the mail carrier know what you are doing.

I agree, but we have different ones all the time. Maybe the solution is to put a note on the padded envelope.