make arduino complete a circuit from a different source

I need my arduino uno to complete a circuit from another source but only if it is receiving a certain voltage. Sorry if this has been asked before or if this posted in the wrong section. I am fairly new to arduino so i apologize if this is a stupid question :slight_smile: :wink:

I think we need a more detailed description of what you are trying to do.

A relay is an electrically controlled (and electrically isolated) switch, so a relay can be used to switch a “different circuit” such as power line voltage.

The Arduino can sense/read voltages between 0 and 5V, and your software can “make decisions” based on this voltage. If the voltage is higher, you can us a voltage divider (2 resistors).

I want to use the arduino as a switch to complete a circuit but only if it receives a greater than or equal to x voltage

ali10163:
I need my arduino uno to complete a circuit from another source but only if it is receiving a certain voltage.

DVDdoug:
I think we need a more detailed description of what you are trying to do.

ali10163:
I want to use the arduino as a switch to complete a circuit but only if it receives a greater than or equal to x voltage

That's just your opening post worded slightly differently; it adds no info for us.

i am using a dc motor to generate the voltage i need it to go through the arduino and complete a "different circuit" and the voltage must be greater than or equal to the voltage. I do not know how to explain better

what voltage is the dc motor, and what voltage is the different circuit?

i am just using the dc motor to generate the voltage that makes the arduino complete the circuit. The other circuit operates at around 20v

And eventually you will disclose what voltage the dc motor will generate?