make website respond to button press

Hi all! I'm new to networking so bear with me. I want to be able to instantly control a public website through some sensor input on an arduino. Let say I want the color of the background to change when i push a physical button.

So far I have been able to use arduino + firmata + P5.js + P5.bots + node.js to make a website that responds instantly to a button press. See video here: Dropbox - boom.mp4 - Simplify your life

This works fine on localhost, but i want this to work on a public website.

What approach would you take? At this moment I assume that the arduino is connected to a PC with internet connection, but other suggestions without pc are welcome.

What approach would you take? At this moment I assume that the arduino is connected to a PC with internet connection, but other suggestions without pc are welcome.

If you want to use the PC for the Internet connection you must install some software there that does the forwarding of the data to your actual webserver.

If you want your Arduino to act autonomously you have to add some hardware to it (Ethernet Shield, WiFi hardware, etc.). The version you choose depends largely on what exactly you're planning to do. If that's just a hobby project where you want to show that you can have some local action visualized on the web you may choose the first version (PC as data forwarder). If that project should go a bit further (p.e. using the Arduino for weather sensors to be shown on the web) you probably better choose the second option.

"This works fine on localhost, but i want this to work on a public website. What approach would you take? At this moment I assume that the arduino is connected to a PC with internet connection, but other suggestions without pc are welcome."