Making a 4 digit Passcode

Hey Guys!

I'm working on a project that uses a 4 digit passcode using numbers 1-5 to unlock something. However, I can't figure out a way to get a working passcode. I have seen that there is a library available for this; however, I would like to do this myself (I'm not very experienced, and I want to learn as much as I can). Would someone be able to give me guidance on how I could do this?

Thanks!

Have you decided on a way for the digits to be entered?

Paul

Yes. I'm using capacitive sensors made from tinfoil, which I'm basically done with.

micwall:
Yes. I'm using capacitive sensors made from tinfoil, which I'm basically done with.

You now have the 4 digits. What is the problem?
Paul

Post all your code.

Paul_KD7HB:
You now have the 4 digits. What is the problem?
Paul

I'm not sure how to code it so I can enter in a four digit code and decide whether or not it is the correct passcode.

What code do you have to read the capacitive sensors and determine which digit was pressed?

#include <CapacitiveSensor.h>
CapacitiveSensor sensor1 = CapacitiveSensor(3, 4);  //initiate each sensor
CapacitiveSensor sensor2 = CapacitiveSensor(5, 6);
CapacitiveSensor sensor3 = CapacitiveSensor(7, 8);
CapacitiveSensor sensor4 = CapacitiveSensor(9, 10);
CapacitiveSensor sensor5 = CapacitiveSensor(11, 12);

int threshold1 = 75;  //thresholds for each sensor
int threshold2 = 75;
int threshold3 = 75;
int threshold4 = 75;
int threshold5 = 75;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);         //bowl of serial
}

void loop() {
  long value1 = sensor1.capacitiveSensor(15); //assign a value for each sensor
  long value2 = sensor2.capacitiveSensor(15);
  long value3 = sensor3.capacitiveSensor(15);
  long value4 = sensor4.capacitiveSensor(15);
  long value5 = sensor5.capacitiveSensor(15);
}

It’s not much, but here’s what I’ve got so far. Also, just to clarify, there will be 5 sensors, each for a digit 1-5. The passcode will consist of 4 digits.