Making a circuit that "remembers" a dip in voltage

Hi all,

I'm a beginner so please bear with me if I use terms incorrectly. I would like to build a circuit that will remember if a voltage of an input signal has dipped below a threshold. I have an input signal that normally has a voltage of 5v that at times momentarily drops to about 0.

I want to make a circuit that takes my signal as input and outputs 5v until the input signal drops below 2.5V. Then I want the circuit to output 0V, even if the input returns to a higher voltage. It would also be fine if it returns to the higher voltage but much more slowly.

Is there an official name for this type of circuit? Thanks for any advice!! :)

Read up on comparators and call us in the morning... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparator

Oh, and read your manual for your Atmel Chip and see if you have a differential comparator on board.

Awesome. Much thanks for the reply. :)

Using arduino you can program "attachInterrupt" to capture falling edge. Than arduino could keeps this "events" in memory as long as necessary, or till you clear it's via serial terminal. May be after some times 5 minutes, few hours using countdown timer.

While many are willing to help out with your specific question, it might be better to explain why you are doing this.

Can’t capacitors read voltage?

Caps know how to store, not read.

No not in the way you might think Read about it… <http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,114925.0.html > You’ll come away a brighter person

Doc

I’d be happy to. I am using an Arduino Uno to collect sensor data and send it to a host via USB where I record the results in MATLAB. Collection must stop when the Arduino receives a MIDI note-on message from an electronic keyboard. MIDI is a serial communication protocol that is received via this midi interface. In this thread I was very helpfully informed that I can’t use the serial port to both receive incoming midi messages and communicate with a host.