Making a machine that draws like a Seismograph/polygraph

Hi

I am a design student, and I need to make a mockup of a sort of Seismograph/polygraph machine. I need to build the mechanism that can draw a simple graph like what is seen in a lie detector(polygraph)/seismograph, on paper.

I bought the Arduino starter kit yesterday, and I am guessing that the servo motor included could function as the arm that draws, being programmed to take random positions going left and right.

I would also need a motor to run the roll of paper. As I have understood, the AC motor included can not run very slow. So I would need a step motor and shield right?

I am entirely new to Arduino, and does not have much experience with coding. Is it possible to get help with coding here, or to hire someone to do it possibly?

Thanks in advance.

-Anders, Denmark

The servo(s) can work as the pen arms, no problems here. For the paper feed you can use a stepper or you could use a gear motor with a high gear ratio

Thank you for your fast reply. I think i will go buy a stepper as well then, so I am sure that i have all the parts needed. A shield is mandatory to get the stepper to work with the arduino right?

Don't rush out and buy a stepper.

I reckon a continuous rotation servo would work very well and would be much easier to install and control. You can failry easily convert a servo to continuous rotation, or you buy them already converted.

Only go for a stepper if you need the precision that it provides. As well as the cost of a stepper motor you will need to buy a stepper motor driver board. And you will also need to buy some sort of driver board for a DC motor. With a servo, the driver is already inside the package.

...R