Making a motor blink

I am new to arduino and I am trying to make a motor blink like the led in the first lesson. I get an led to work but when I go and plug the DC motor included with the arduino uno it will not work. I have tried everything and nothing will work.

Jacknye:
I am new to arduino and I am trying to make a motor blink like the led in the first lesson. I get an led to work but when I go and plug the DC motor included with the arduino uno it will not work. I have tried everything and nothing will work.

Some people say when a motor doesn't run, it is "on the blink". Is this what you mean? I do not relate blinking with motors. Please explain. And identify the motor and how you have things connected. You surely are not trying to power an electric motor with an Arduino pin, are you?

Paul

You can't power a motor from the Arduino.

You will need a motor driver of some sort, and a separate motor power supply. Connect the grounds.

The simplest setup for one directional rotation is the schematic below (the diode D1 and a logic level MOSFET is required), but see Pololu for many more options.

I get an led to work but when I go and plug the DC motor included with the arduino uno it will not work.

Did you try using DC motor driver? most people using dc motor not directly plug into arduino pin, but plug into the driver first. Hope it can help : [u]https://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-use-the-L293D-Motor-Driver-Arduino-Tutorial/[/u]

A couple of months ago I bought a Arduino Uno. I am trying to use the Arduino to make a dc motor blink. I used the basic code and could make a led blink, but when I plug in the motor it seems to not have enough power to run. I am new to Arduino so I am still learning the basics. I was wondering if I would be able to use my current Arduino uno to blink the motor or if I would need to buy a new Arduino to fulfill the task. If I have to buy a new one what Arduino would work best? :slight_smile:

Show your sketch.