Making a Multi-Month Countdown Timer

Hey, guys

I'm new at this, so I'm probably gonna need a help of help and guidance through this whole project :blush:

My idea is this: making an LED clock that would countdown the months, days, and hours (minutes maybe? if its possible) to me and my girlfriend's anniversary. Since this is a specific day timer, I would like it to keep the timer going if the batteries were to die (I'm hoping I can use some sort a battery for this that will last a least a year). I would also like it to be relatively small in size so it doesn't take up too much desk space, and would also like it to be very visually appealing, but I'm guessing that's not really your job over here : )P.

Anyway, do you think making a countdown timer like this is possible/relatively easy? Also, I'd like to make it on the cheaper side of things since I'm not super rich :stuck_out_tongue:

Hi,
LED numerals take some power... Maybe think about LCD instead..

You'll need a small Real Time Clock chip/board that can keep time for years with it's own little watch battery as well as the Arduino. See some info on the ArduinoInfo.Info WIKI HERE:

You could make a clock that uses a small "wall wart" 5V 1A supply to run the Arduino and LED displays If it is powered off and back on the RealTime Clock would not lose the time/date..

Real time clock is not necessary, although it increases the precision of the clock significantly.
Start by checking this:
http://playground.arduino.cc/Code/time

There is a library for clock called "Alarms" I guess you could use that to run a clock, do the countdown, and even sing "Happy Birthday" as required, year in, year out until you got old and/or tired of it. It could even be resettable in the event of a new girlfriend.

Indeed, to make the job more interesting, you might include some bio-monitoring device so that it can operate with multiple girlfriends.