Making a Sensor Light With Preset Timer Function

Hey guys,

So as you can tell I am a complete novice when it comes to the arduino and any sort of programming! Essentially what I want to do is create a circuit that uses an LDR threshold that controls an LED so that when the level is below the threshold, the LED is off and when the level passes above the threshold, the LED turns on. Additionally, I want the LED to remain on when the level is above the threshold for 30 minutes before turning off again. I’ve got my circuit set up ok , the issues I’m having are bringing in the timing function. If anyone could give any advice on how to incorporate that into the following sketch I’d be very grateful!

Here is the simple sketch I’m working on:

const int analogPin = A0; // pin that the sensor is attached to
const int ledPin = 9; // pin that the LED is attached to
const int threshold = 550; // an arbitrary threshold level that’s in the range of the analog input

void setup() {
// initialize the LED pin as an output:
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);

}

void loop() {
// read the value of the sensor:
int analogValue = analogRead(analogPin);

// if the analog value is high enough, turn on the LED:
if (analogValue > threshold) {
digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
}
else {
digitalWrite(ledPin,LOW);
}

}

The easiest way would be to use delay after you turn the led on. If your system will expand later to do other things, you'll want to do your timing with millis. Look at the blink without delay example sketch provided with the IDE to see a simple example of controlling a led using millis.

Thanks very much for the reply Wildbill. I was actually messing around with adding a delay. It's just that if the analogValue is above the threshold, the LED is on and it stays on after the delay time is up. I'm wondering if there is a way for the light to be switched off after the set time (30 mins) is up even if the analogValue is above the threshold.. Thanks