Making a simple LCD counter

Hey there,

I’m relatively new with Arduino’s and C++, so please bear with me. I’m working on a school project for an engineering course and we are currently using Tinkercad to make virtual circuits. Our current project is to use an arduino and an LCD to make a counter that displays the seconds, minutes, hours, and days since the program began running using millis().

I have my display working and numbers counting up, but my trouble is properly resetting seconds back to zero after it reaches 60. Here is my code:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 10, 5, 4, 3, 2);

void setup()
{
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
  lcd.begin(16,2);

Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  delay(500);

int secs = millis()/1000;
  int mins = secs/60;
  int hrs = mins/60;
  int dys = hrs/24;  

lcd.setCursor(0, 0);
  lcd.print(String(dys) + String(":days"));
  lcd.setCursor(8, 0);
  lcd.print(String(hrs) + String(":hours"));
  lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
  lcd.print(String(mins) + String(":mins"));
  lcd.setCursor(8, 1);
  lcd.print(String(secs) + String(":secs"));

if (secs >= 60)
  {
    secs = 0;
    lcd.setCursor(9, 1);
    lcd.print(String(secs));
  }  
}

So as you can see, when seconds reach 60 the minutes go up by one, and when the minutes reach 60, the hours go up by one etc. I know that the if statement at the bottom doesn’t work, I’ve just been experimenting and trying whatever I can find online. So I just need each time to reset to zero after they have hit either 60 (for seconds and minutes) or 24 (for hours).

If anyone could give me any advice that would be very much appreciated, thanks!

Well, the obvious problem is that in your division chain, you are reducing your time to the total numbers of seconds, minutes, hours etc, rather than the number remaining relative to the larger units.

You need to research the remainder function.

Tinkercad? Blecch!