Making A Timer With A Servo

I have been wanting to make an automatic dog feeder for a while, and I just got a servo motor. My plan is to hook a servo up to my Arduino Uno and somehow make it so that at a chosen time it will activate the servo for a given amount of time. I am new to programming with Arduinos and I would appreciate any help I could get. Thanks, Cowen.

If you are going to have this running for more than a day or two and you don't want the times to drift several minutes a day then you should get a Real-Time Clock (RTC) module to keep the time and date.

If you want the servo to move once a day, pick an hour and minute. Make sure the clock is in 24-hour mode or you will get feedings every 12 hours instead of 24.

Then you can move the servo for one minute a day:

if (now.day == 13 &&now.minute == 0) // 1 PM every day
    servo.write(180);
  else
    servo.write(0);

You might want to add a prox detector so the "whatever" doesn't close on the dog's head after a minute...

aarg:
You might want to add a prox detector so the "whatever" doesn't close on the dog's head after a minute...

I assumed that the servo would just be dumping a serving of food into a bowl.

I am very sorry, but I was hoping to be able to feed my dog twice a day, is there any way to do that?

programmingisfun:
I am very sorry, but I was hoping to be able to feed my dog twice a day, is there any way to do that?

What times? 9 AM and 7 PM?

if ((now.hour == 9 && now.minute == 0) // 9 AM every day
      or
      (now.hour == 19 && now.minute == 0)) // 7 PM every day
    servo.write(180);
  else
    servo.write(0);

johnwasser:
What times? 9 AM and 7 PM?

if ((now.hour == 9 && now.minute == 0) // 9 AM every day

or
      (now.hour == 19 && now.minute == 0)) // 7 PM every day
    servo.write(180);
  else
    servo.write(0);

I tried that, but when I go to upload it to my Arduino Uno, a message pops up saying "now was not declared in this scope.