Making a X-Y plotter

Hi everyone,I am a mechanical engineering student and I need to make a XY plotter using old DVD drive stepper motors. The objective is to build a 3D MIG printer (like this) in my final year, so I still have 1.5 years to go. The XY plotter will be just a trial project, so that I can show my project guide.
Now, I am not very good at electronics or programming, so I need a lot of help. I broke apart an old dot matrix printer, but that motor burnt the L293d IC :slightly_frowning_face: , also the L298n runs very hot with that. So, I decided to use dvd-drive motors with L293d IC. But now I have seen that GRBL cannot run a H-bridge driver! So, now I will be needing two 'sparkfun easydriver'.

My questions are:

1. Can I run two stepper motors with two L293d ICs with an Uno? (My Uno isn't an original Uno)
  2. How do I install GRBL in arduino? I have tried compiling, it gives up a compiling error. I have also flashed a grbl_0.9 hex file, still it does not work.

Someone please help! :cry:

P.S: RAMPS is out of my budget!

Do DVD players still have steppers?

Life will be a great deal easier if you use bipolar stepper motors and proper stepper motor driver boards that are suitable for the motors rather than using L293 drivers. The Thread stepper motor basics may be helpful.

I think you should be able to upload GRBL with the Arduino IDE. I haven't used it but I compiled it for an Uno in response to another Thread.

...R

AWOL:
Do DVD players still have steppers?

DVD drives used in desktop computers have stepper motors for moving the laser assembly. I have seen some very old CD drives using only one DC motor to do everything! I don't know about very modern blue-ray drives though!

Robin2:
Life will be a great deal easier if you use bipolar stepper motors and proper stepper motor driver boards that are suitable for the motors rather than using L293 drivers. The Thread stepper motor basics may be helpful.