Making my accordion a MIDI controller

Hi,

I've been playing the accordion for a long time but I've also been making a lot of electronic music. An old wish is to have my accordion act as a MIDI controller. Unfortunately there are no good sets to turn an accordion in a MIDI controller. In daily life I am a software engineer and I while ago I had to cooperate with hardware engineers who were working with Arduino. That gave me the spark to start an Arduino project. I have the following idea, feedback would be really appreciated.

I'll use light gates to trigger MIDI NoteOn and NoteOff. It really needs to be binary. But I have a lot of tones and a series of registers, around 100. So I'll need 13 ShiftOut registers. Examples are already provided with the CD4021B and the SN74HC165N at the Arduino site. But I found so many shift registers, it is hard too choose. Questions I have: Is having 13 shift registers ok? Are there any concerns with shift registers that I should be aware of like power consumption?

The Uno is a bit too big to fit so I would like to try the Micro. It has the ATmega32U4 but I still am not sure that I can use that as a HID device. I would like to have the device popup as a MIDI device (using ddiakopoulos/hiduino. I've done that now for the Uno but I still searching for the confirmation that it will work with the Micro. Has anybody experience with that?

Last but not least, volume should be controlled with a pressure sensor. With this I'll be able to have the initial volume as well as aftertouch volumes. I am now aiming for the Freescale mpxv7002dp. My biggest concern is that I should have a pretty stable signal and remove erratic behaviour. Probably it won't work as linearly as I hope so I have to do signal processing. Does anybody have experience with that in real time with the Micro?

Let me know your thoughts!

Thanks,

Guido