Making "Police Lights" for Child's Bicycle

I am relatively new to the Arduino ecosystem and to microcontrollers in general, having made my way through the first 5 or 6 chapters of the Arduino Projects Book using an Arduino Uno.

I'd like to make some blue and red flashing LED "police lights" that I can attach to my son's bicycle handle bars. There is a section that is about 6 inches (15 cm) in length on his handlebar that I could attach the LEDs to.

For the LEDs, I was thinking of getting 2 of the NeoPixel 8x5050 RGBW LED sticks that I could put next to each other. I was hoping to also use a 3-way switch to toggle between flashing blue/red LEDs, set to all white, or to turn off.

This would have to be battery powered as well.

I'm willing to learn how to solder but don't have access to a 3D printer so I'd also appreciate any recommendations on how to assemble all of this.

I was hoping to get some recommendations on the hardware I should use and other considerations I should have. Specifically:

(1) Are there other LEDs I should look at?

(2) What's the best board to use that is compact, low power and is compatible with the Arduino IDE? I don't need bluetooth or wifi.

(3) What type of switch, battery holder or other hardware would I need?

(4) Any suggestions on how to mount the board and LEDs to bicycle.

I feel that this project allows me to build on what I have learned but to also stretch myself in areas that I'm not terribly comfortable with. This is my first post on these forums so thank you in advance for any suggestions!

I suggest using a plastic box having a transparent lid/top for housing the lot.

If You do Your best to make the box with its buttons as much water resistant as possible that toy will have a longer life.
Buttons covered with a membrane would a good chance to survive.

A plug, fitted downwards for charging would be handy....