Making wings flap

I am an artist and am looking to make real butterfly wings flap using Arduino. I am unsure how to best utilize Arduino and what hardware would be necessary to make a micro sculpture move in this way? As you can tell I am new to Arduino and an am not a mechanical engineer, I have done some tutorials and also have an uno. I am using real wings so the movement would have to be slow and possibly with an armature I create. Many thanks in advance for your help and patience.

You need some sort of solenoid that can hold its position based on voltage or current and vary that current high/low to have the solenoid plunger move back and forth. The plunger can then be coupled to the wing to have it move up/down.

Another approach could be a motor whose shaft can be coupled to a cam or something like that to move the wing up and down...for slow speeds you can use a geared motor or servo or stepper...geared would be the best option, I guess.

Real butterfly wings? They are very fragile, right? All your problems lie in handling the wings and attaching mechanics to them. Utilizing the Arduino is no problem at all compared to that.
You won't be able to replicate the natural motion of a butterfly wing in slow motion, because if you look at a real butterfly in slow motion, like this:

...you see how the air helps the wing curve in a wavy shape. In a slow motion you would have to place your butterfly in water to make it look similar.
If I were to build a butterfly with plastic wings, I'd try to build it like there was a stem along the front edge of the wing. And this stem had a soft spring keeping it in upper position. An almost invisible nylon string could pull it down. This string would go further underneath the butterfly to hidden mechanics including a motor and some gear to create the pull and release motion. If it was just an on/off machine, you don't need an Arduino for that.

1 Like