man down IDEA

thanks in advance.

My idea is to make Arduino act like a man down monitor. just at thinking stage and coming stuck.

I'm thinking of using a mercury tilt switch with 10K pulldown, to then control a timer.

movement detected == YES == TIMER reset

movement detected == NO == if no movement for 10secs (do something)

I also need a long press to reset TIMER if movement is detected after the 10secs,
basically continues to flash LED SOS, until human interaction.

can this be done as i was originally going to use a 555 somehow.
I'm new to this so be gentle...

many thanks

can this be done

Yes

i was originally going to use a 555 somehow.

You will need more than one I suspect.

"can this be done "
Gently,
I suspect your real question is "can this be done using an arduino".
If that assumption is right, then the answer is YES.

Is this device to be worn on a human, 24/7?
What does it do in the case of "man down"? flash a light, call 911, or what?

I'm thinking of using a mercury tilt switch

Problem is that it is illegal to use a mercury switch in Europe. I used to be in a place that made them professionally and we had to design the mercury tilt switch out. We used a ball tilt switch but had reliability problems getting a contact.

I suspect your real question is "can this be done using an arduino".

I suspect the real question is "can you give me the code to do this".

Jack wp:
This is going to be used in a diver umbilical torch, to auto flash an LED if a diver loses consciousness.

It's apart of a bigger idea to control a 10w LED.

Grumpy-Mike: thanks for pointing out the legals of mercury. I'll switch to a ball bearing type.

I'm thinking about using the timer function but not sure how to go about it.

It's getting the switch to trigger the timer. Is confusing to say the least

As for giving me code, i would like a little help yes but, a jumping off point would be nice.

I've all ready got the code working for selecting led brightness with one switch.