MAN74A LED 7 segment display

Hello everybody, i'm new to the arduino scene and even newer on this forum, actually.

As of right now I am working hard on a Common Cathode MAN74A 7 segment display to use with arduino UNO and a 400 tie point breadboard.
My ultimate goal in that particular project is to make an HEX counter with a double-7 segment display (0.0.).

Right now im trying to do a simple counter from 0 to 9. for me the difficulties reside in the circuit design that i am to use. How and where to connect the led pins on the arduino , should I use analogue or digital input ?
Newbie here, resistors-wise, generally should the resistors be put between the negative source and the led display or the positive source and the led display ? I cant provide a shematic at the moment. I am a programmer by training and ive decided to get on microcontrollers to expand my electronics skills and learn, the problem is strictly with the electronic design. I lack the base but willing to learn, any answer is a good answer, but please do not flame :wink:

Thanks a lot for the time and/or the effort one should put in answering this post.
I'll keep on searching for potential answers over the internet, of course.

Thanks

Maxime G.

i started with this:

But as yours is a Common Cathode, ull have to change a few things, the common node will go to "gnd", the rest will be the same with the exception of the code, you'll have to swap the 0's and 1's in the code.
that is replace the 1's with 0's and 0's with 1's.

byte seven_seg_digits[10][7] = { { 1,1,1,1,1,1,0 },  // = 0
                                                           { 0,1,1,0,0,0,0 },  // = 1
                                                           { 1,1,0,1,1,0,1 },  // = 2
                                                           { 1,1,1,1,0,0,1 },  // = 3
                                                           { 0,1,1,0,0,1,1 },  // = 4