manual milling machine control, not cnc, total noobie !!!!!

Thought this may be the best place to ask this.

I have a big heavy duty milling machine in the workshop, it operates in manual control or in automatic mode using a 1970`s pegboard Cmos based controller, I never use the automatic mode, as I also have a cnc machine that I built running mach3 to do that kind of work.

Unfortunately in manual mode, all the switching is still done through the two Cmos boards and I keep having trouble with them, a few years ago I lost drive, clutches, brakes and direction to all axis and could not fix the board, I ended up fitting a bank of relays to control all the movement. now I have lost spindle forward, and the fault is again on the board.

I can start working everything out and fit more relays to control the spindle, spindle brake and clutch, but would still have to figure out a timer for the sideway lubricator and a delay for motor forward/reverse

I have zero experience with arduino, but have heard it mentioned quite a bit recently, and was wondering if an arduino could run everything for me ?

This is not a cnc machine, so all axis are driven from one single 3 phase motor, with contactors for forward and reverse, it does however have a 24v brake and clutch on each axis to hold or drive, and on the drive motor it has a high speed and low speed clutch to select drive or jog, the machine can only move in one direction at any one time, ie, up or down, in or out and left or right.

currently i have a mechanical joystick which operates a micro switch for the above mentioned movements, once I select the direction, say "left" the micro switch triggers a relay (used to be cmos board) this puts the brake on for up/down and in/out, keeping them locked,and powers up the axis drive motor contactor, then I push the start feed button and this supplies power to the low speed clutch on the axis drive motor, or if I push the jog button, it supplies power to the high speed clutch