Many local vs one global variable

Is it better to use many local variables or a global one?
Memory-wise, I think one global should be better, but not sure.
Processing-wise, I think it might be the same, but again I don't know.

Many local example:

switch (c)
{
         case 1:
             int temp1=x;  //local
         case 2:
             int temp2=y;  //local
         case 3:
             int temp3=z;  //local
}

One global example:

int temp;   //global

switch (c)
{
         case 1:
             temp=x;  
         case 2:
             temp=y;  
         case 3:
             temp=z;  
}

Thank you very much for your help.

PS, my code is very tight on memory...

my code is very tight on memory

What code?

From a previous thread I've learned (from the experienced, thank you) that it does not matter, since the compiler will get what you mean and then optimise on variable storage usage.

As a newbie, I quickly learned, that it is much easier to follow the assigned values of my variables, if they are all declared and used as globals troughout your code.
It will also avoid confusions between assigning and storing the values of the variables while the program loops.

As you get experienced, you can use the common best practice programming method of declaring and using local variables within the scope of your functions.
This will make large code structures easier to read.

AWOL:
What code?

There's no point in pasting hundreds of line of code from multiple files. I'm asking about the concept in general.

Generally, local "auto" variables are created on the stack when the function is entered, and discarded when the stack is popped after the function return. Or, they may be put into a register if the compiler thinks that it would be a good idea.

KeithRB: