map question

Hello all, I'm just starting to learn the map (is function the correct word?). From the Map reference:

{
  int val = analogRead(0);
  val = map(val, 0, 1023, 0, 255);
  analogWrite(9, val);
}

Does this mean if I did a map like the following:

{int volt = analogRead(0); //input range of 0 to 5vdc on pin 0
volt = map(volt = map(volt, 0, 1023, 0, 5); // will this break the 5 volts into 1024 different parts?
  lcd.print(volt, 2); //then print the voltage to two decimals using 0018 IDE?
}

Will that work to read voltage and print out? Is this a better way than the calculations of pin0 input * 5.0/1023 to get the voltage? OR is it better to do the calculations?

OR am I trying to use map for something other than it's intended use?

Thanks to a great group for all the help I've received.

Ken H>

The map function performs integer arithmetic. If you’re happy having the value (in the range 0 to 1023) mapped to 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5, the map function will be perfect for you.

Oh, I didn’t think so. So, you will need to perform your own (floating point) mapping.

You could "map" to the range 0..500, and then divide by 100.0.

Thank you for the response Paul - I was sorta thinking it was integer is why I mentioned the 2 decimals.....

If the result were mapped to volt = map(volt, 0, 1023, 0 500) //this would now set to 1, 2, 3,.....234, 235,.... 498, 499, 500?

I could then do a volt = volt/100 to get the 2 decimals?

Does this give any better results than normal calculations? OR just a different way of getting the same thing? The result is still going to depend on the voltage.. is that "rail voltage" when the default 5.0vdc is used?

Thank you for the help Paul... and others who have provided this boy so much help. Ken H>

The map function is using integer arithmetic. Mapping to 0...500 will result in less loss of precision, but there will still be losses.