Massive 256 analog input MIDI controller - Arduino Mega - losing voltage?

So as the title suggests, I am building a rather large 256-max input MIDI controller with the Arduino Mega for an old and beloved synth that never had proper knob per function capabilities.

Basically I have been able to do a lot with the Arduino Mega and I've been able to connect 16 individual MUX chips which have 16 inputs on each. Everything seems to function properly in my setup and the MIDI library (albeit kind of lacking in some documentation) is pretty straight forward.

Disclaimer, I'm a programmer not an electrical guy and new to Arduino.

My issue is that when I connect about 40-ish analog inputs to the Mega and I turn all the pots all the way to the high position then when I wiggle a various pot, the data received diminishes and loses its 0-1023 range. And is instead in the 0-960 range. Is this normal?

I am powering all the analog pots via the Ardiuno Mega's 5v rail. Is there another solution for this? Am I running out of voltage when all the pots are turned up? Of course, if I am running out of juice then what am I todo when I try and connect all 200+ pots?

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Please show a schematic (photo/scan of a hand drawn one will do). Which value are your pots (40 1k pots might indeed be a little much as that would be 200mA)? Anything else connected?

Hey thanks for the quick reply,

So I have about (6-7) MUX chips and around (40) 10k pots connected. I dont have a schematic of the complete circuit just yet (I will upload when I have soon) But basically its a bunch of MUX chips going to 10k pots (because I heard that 10k is a better resistance for getting the proper values for MIDI controllers).

5V/10000 x 40 = 20mA. Should not be a current draw issue unless they are wired wrong.