Master/slave arduino nano's

Hello.

I'm new to arduino, but having a lot of success working through the tutorials and examples.

I have a project I would like to do, which is basically a model level crossing controller.

I would have two Nano's, one as the master, controlling the light and motor sequence, and another Nano as a slave to provide alternating flashing of red LED's.

The slave Nano would have to respond to start and finish signals from the master nano.

Both Nano's would have common pos. and neg. supply.

How can I trigger the second (slave) nano to start and stop, as part of the sequence in the master Nano ?

(Could we keep it as simple as possible ? I'm still a novice)

Many thanks

P.S. Could I/Should I use an opto-coupler maybe ?

Hi Keith

I don’t see that you’ve run out of IO yet - so a single nano to do this entire task.

In crossings I see, there are lights in only 3 states - solid on (end of boomgates), and alternating flash (one of each type on the boomgates, one of each type on the road signals.

So while there are many LEDs potentially to flash, as you say they’re just alternating so you could control them all from three* digital IO pins on the nano, using a transistor or MOSFET such that the Arduino will be controlling them, but not powering them. You’ll then need other pins to control the servos for the boomgates and some kind of sensor for the oncoming train detection.

Keith_W:
(Could we keep it as simple as possible ? I’m still a novice)

So yes I think you can simplify this down to one Nano, and maybe 3 transistors and resistors.

There’s lots of tutorials about using MOSFETs and transistors with Arduino - Nick Gammon’s page is informative. There’s a motor in those examples as the load but just replace that with your LEDs in parallel (with current limiting resistors) and remove the protection diode and you’ll have what you need.

Cheers!
Geoff

• Even two, but let’s keep it simple

Thanks for your input Geoff.