Materials required and general help !!!

Hello, a COMPLETE noob here. I really need some help and quick.
I need to make a alarm clock and i have no idea how. Me and my partner are doing this project and he has a bit more knowledge about this then i do but really speaking we both are shooting into the dark. First of all i dont even know what are the things required. Any help would be a great help , even listing the materials would be a great start.

I mean i have a basic idea how to do it and what are the things required but any help is appreciated. And i am really excited about this project. any help would encourage me for future projects too. thank you

If you need an alarm clock quickly then just buy one. They are cheap.

If you want to take the time (pun intended) to learn Arduino programming we will be happy to help.

Get yourselves an Arduino Uno and study some of the example programs that come with the Arduino IDE. Most of the techniques that you will need are in one or other of the examples.

...R

The Arduino itself can keep basic track of time but if you switch it on and off it will need to have the time reset. You can get round this by adding a Real Time Clock card these are cheap, accurate and run for years and years.

Then you need to think about exactly what type of clock you want. You can have a standard one with mechanical arms, a digital one, a steam punk one - the limit is your imagination.

An Arduino + RTC + some form of display + some form of alarm is all you need for a basic alarm clock. Add a few buttons (push buttons, rotary buttons, switches) for control.

That's what you need for an alarm clock.

Now it's up to you to, for starters, fill in the details.
What display? E.g.: 1602 LCD, 4x7-segment LED, clock face with hands, etc.
What alarm? E.g.: bell, buzzer, flashing lights, SMS notification, setting off some firecrackers.