Max distance

What's the max distance which I can connect a led to an Arduino io pin?

Hi,

this depends on the wire you are using. (specificly the resistiance of the wire)

You can either measure the resistance of your wire you'll be using or use a wire-calculator (google).

I'll look at the wire calculators tools.

The wire resistance actualy depends on the wire width, doesn't it? So in fact I have to calc the wire resistance based on the distance that I want to put the led, and see if the resistence is acceptable... Is it right? If so, how can I assert it?

Sorry for such dumb questions, I have little knowledge on eletrics

How far do you plan to extend wiring? Several meters for leds 20 mA isn't a distance, don't worry

About 70 mts, at most... Is it OK?

Beside leds, I'd have to trigger relays (through a transistor, I supose) and receive input from reed switches

If you will use CAT5, they say 0.188 Ohm / m: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category_5_cable do your homework with Ohm law. What about relay, how much current its need? You probably can connect a couple twisted pair in parallel

If using cat5 I'll get a resistence of .188/m, I would get a total of 13.16ohms for my 70mts cable

The ohm's law Magician mentioned states that V = R * I, but I didn't understand how to apply it here

Regarding the relays, I didn't know it, but the relays should drive elements like 127v lamps

V = R * I, but I didn't understand how to apply it here

I'm afraid, you are not qualified to do a job... Find a contractor ]:D

Well, I never pretended to be skilled in eletrics... Just tryin' to learn

If you could post what you are trying to do, it would be better to give you ideas regarding this!!

magnomp,