MAX31856

Hello all,

I am a complete beginner to Arduino and I could use some assistance. I am working on a project with cryogenic temperatures (down to -320F) and I want to use Arduino to read data from five type T thermocouples by way of 5 MAX31856 thermocouple amplifiers. I have an Arduino Uno and an Arduino Mega at my disposal.

1. Is it possible to connect all five amplifiers to one of or both of my Arduinos? If possible, I have two USB ports on my computer… will this be sufficient in terms of power?

2. What are the best options to house my amplifiers? I need something a little more reliable than a breadboard.

I have already downloaded the SPI and MAX31856 libraries to my IDE, I am just waiting on my amplifiers to come in and I can get started testing.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

babyshark:

1. Is it possible to connect all five amplifiers to one of or both of my Arduinos?

It should be. These use a SPI communication interface. SPI is a bus. That means you can connect the SDI, SDO, and SCK pins from all the MAX31856 to the same 3 pins on your Mega. You only need to use a separate pin for each of the CS pins. That will determine which of the MAX31856 are enabled so that you are only communicating with one at a time.

We could probably give more information on how to do this code-wise if you provide a link to the MAX31856 library you're using.

babyshark:
If possible, I have two USB ports on my computer.. will this be sufficient in terms of power?

I think it will be fine. These amplifiers probably don't require a lot of current.

babyshark:
2. What are the best options to house my amplifiers? I need something a little more reliable than a breadboard.