MAX7219 and 4x7-segment LED's

I’m new to electronics and would appreciate a little guidance please. I want to drive a number of 7-segment LEDs and know that a MAX7219 driver chip can control up to 8 numbers on a 7-segment LED. Is it therefore possible to drive 2 4x7-segment LEDs from 1 MAX7219 driver chip? I was wondering that if you connect pins #14, #16, #20, #23, #21, #15, #17 from the MAX7219 to pins a, b, c, d, e, f, g on BOTH the 4x7-segment LEDs, then pins #2, #11, #6, #7 to each of the 4x7-segment LEDs separately would that work? Or do you need a dedicated MAX7219 driver chip for each 7-segment LED?

I’ll be running them from an Arduino UNO.

You can drive 2x 4 digit seven segment displays from a single MAX7219 but remember the displays ideally need to be of the common cathode type.

AndyInSurrey:
I was wondering that if you connect pins ... to each of the 4x7-segment LEDs separately would that work?

TL;DR. As long as both displays are either common cathode or common anode and you parallel like elements the same over two or more display modules as you would within a single display, it will work.

Riva:
remember the displays ideally need to be of the common cathode type.

Only if you only want to display digits and thus want to avoid generating the display font in software.

But if you want flexibility, common anode or common cathode becomes entirely moot.

Before you buy anything, tell us about these displays - how big & what is the forward voltage and max current of the segments?

Paul

Thanks for the replies, I was sure it should work. So, I connect to the MAX7219 to the a, b, c, d, e, f, and g pins on both LEDs (of which I was going to get the common cathode type), and then the D0, D1, D2, and D3 on one LED and D4, D5, D6 and D7 on the other?

PaulRB:
Before you buy anything, tell us about these displays - how big & what is the forward voltage and max current of the segments?

Paul