Max7219, DS3231 RTC Clock

Hi All,

I am trying to make a 6 digit clock for a retirement present for a work colleague / mentor who is retiring. The plan is to eventually incorporate the clock into an old piece of test equipment.

After advice from the forum I am using a DS3231 RTC Module combined with a MAX7219 IC chip with two common cathode 4x7segment displays. The plan being that once I have got the code working I will then change the displays for 2x7segments to mount into the test equipment.

I have limited knowledge of coding after teaching myself enough for a project at Uni 10 years ago and am therefore rusty to say the least.

So far I have got the code working to set the RTC and can see this working over the serial link as it updated every second;

#include <config.h>
#include <ds3231.h>
#include <Wire.h>

struct ts t; 

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Wire.begin();

t.hour=12; 
  t.min=30;
  t.sec=0;
  t.mday=25;
  t.mon=12;
  t.year=2019;

DS3231_set(t);
}

void loop() {
 DS3231_get(&t);
  Serial.print("Date : ");
  Serial.print(t.mday);
  Serial.print("/");
  Serial.print(t.mon);
  Serial.print("/");
  Serial.print(t.year);
  Serial.print("\t Hour : ");
  Serial.print(t.hour);
  Serial.print(":");
  Serial.print(t.min);
  Serial.print(".");
  Serial.println(t.sec);

delay(1000);
}

When I try to combine the above code with some code I have found for from the LedControl Library it wants to count in Hex-Decimal and will only display the smallest bit of the number i,e instead of 12 it shows “c”

#include <LedControl.h>
#include <config.h>
#include <ds3231.h>
#include <Wire.h>

struct ts t; 
// identifying pins for the Max7219 & 7seg display
LedControl lc=LedControl(12,11,10,1);

unsigned long delaytime=250;

void setup() {
  // Setup for the serial monitor and setting clock time:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Wire.begin();

t.hour=12; 
  t.min=59;
  t.sec=0;
  t.mday=25;
  t.mon=12;
  t.year=2019;

DS3231_set(t);