measure analog values between a zero interval

Hello there!

I am not really experienced in C-programming so I would need some help in how to programm something like this:

I am reading analog values from 8 FSR sensors (two force measuring plates) and calculating a floating average of the already to digital converted values. So far so good.

Further on I would like to calculate the average of the values which lay between an interval of zeros.
In the end all this is about to compare actual bodyweight of a person to how much of the body weight is actually brought up on the plates and not relieved over the handrails of the treadmill.
The interval of zeros (or very low values) shows the time between the two steps and i want to leave this out of the calculation. After the zeros there is the next step and i want the average, so the force, or weight, which occures in one step cycle (values before and after zeros). All this then should continue till the measurement is ended manually.

I hope i described it in a way someone can understand. I think the coding doesnt take that much effort but i just cant wrap my head around it.

Thank you!

Marvin

I hope i described it in a way someone can understand. I think the coding doesnt take that much effort but i just cant wrap my head around it.

I'm amazed at the number of people that can not figure out how to do something, and yet conclude that it should be easy.

It really does, though, seem like it should be easy. To calculate an average, you add up a bunch of values, and divide by the number of values.

Now, the problem is that some (many?) of the values are zero (or less than some threshold). So, while adding nothing, or almost nothing, does little to affect the total, the average is reduced because the number of values remains the same.

So, what to do?

Lets say that you get 10 readings, like
0, 4, 10, 100, 150, 150, 100, 10, 4, 0

You add them up, and get 528. Divide by 10, and you get 52.8.