Measure and display position and time

Hello everyone,
I’m new to Arduino so this might be a basic question.
I have 3 electrodes and gnd connected to pin 2,3 and 4 (like a buttons) and gnd. I also have a metal ball that rolls over them. When the ball roll over one of the electrodes, it makes connection and the position of the ball (which is the number of the pin electrode connected to) is displaced in the serial monitor.

I want to modify the codes to do 2 things
first I don’t want it to show the position of the ball repeatedly . Only once is enough. When the ball moves to another electrode, the new number is displaced.
I also want to count and show the time duration the ball took to move from position x to position y.

So for example,
If the ball is over electrode 2, serial monitor will show 2. Once the ball moves to electrode 3, serial monitor will show 3 and time duration =x milliseconds

Can you please help
thnaks

I attached my current simple code

void setup() {
  // initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
  Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(2, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(3, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(4, INPUT_PULLUP);
}

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop() {
  // read the input pin:
  if (digitalRead(2)==HIGH)
     Serial.println("2");
  if (digitalRead(3)==HIGH)
     Serial.println("3");
  if (digitalRead(4)==HIGH)
     Serial.println("4");

// print out the postion of the ball:
  delay(1);        // delay in between reads for stability
}