Measurement and data loggin: Time based ON Relay, trigger based OFF that Relay

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to electronics and I cant work out a good solution for my issue. Ill start by stating my goal, and then explain in more depth in case it is not clear enough.

1. Every hour a timed relay turns the arduino ON
  2. Arduino does some measurements (waterlevel, temperature, pressure etc.) (this part is already working fine)
  3. When the measuring cycle is completed (and sometimes sent to server), arduino sends a trigger signal to turn off the relay (essentially cutting its own power)

It can not be predicted exactly how long it takes for a measuring cycle to be completed, therefore i would greatly prefer it if it would be:

• Timed relay turns ON once every 60 minutes: This provides power to arduino
  • Arduino can do what is needed, regardless of how long this would take (it will always be in the order of seconds to one or two minutes though)
  • At the end of its cycle the arduino sends a trigger singal to cut its own power
  • 60 minutes after intial startup (step 1) it starts up again.

Reason for making it this complex and not just leaving the arduino powered and programming it, is that the arduino is used for water level measurements in remote areas. It will be solar and battery powered, and we do not want to have the arduino in sleep mode, we want it to have no power at all except when its measuring (which will quite probably be seconds per day in total only after some tuning if we can get the above process working effectively).

As a motivational incentive and thank you:
We intend to use these for flood hazard and risk analyses.