Measuring a negative analog input

Hi I'm a) a complete noob, and b) trying to read the output of a 'yamaha breath controller', which expects to see -9v at one terminal, and gives an output value between 0 and -5v.

What are my options for measuring this without zapping my board?

I'm eager to learn, but just starting out, so take it easy please!

Thanks! This seems like a really helpful board.

Another possibility is to use an op-amp to invert the signal from the controller.

I'm aware on the motorcycles and musical stuff that Yamaha makes. What is a "breath controller"? Post a link.

Makes sense. My first thought was something along the lines of a breathalyzer, which I didn't figure was right. But, then, I'm not a musician, so I don't have the background for a lot of the music/midi questions.

If it truly is a negative signal here is a circuit designed for -7V to 0V in:

http://ruggedcircuits.com/html/circuit__14.html

It should work well enough for -5V to 0V.

-- The Rugged Motor Driver: two H-bridges, more power than an L298, fully protected

circuit designed for -7V to 0V

Interesting. According to the data sheet the TLV2271 inputs are only good to 0.2V outside of the supply rails. Here you're feeding an input well below the negative rail and not common mode with the non-inverting input. I'm kinda surprised this works.

My approach would be to scrounge a 5V dc-dc converter off an old computer motherboard and use a random low voltage op-amp with the +/- 5V split supply to do the inverting, but if this TLV2271 circuit works, great.

The op-amp keeps both of its input terminals at about 0.1V due to negative feedback. It doesn’t matter that the input voltage is negative. The op-amp never sees the negative voltage. Because of this 0.1V at the inverting input the breath controller must be able to sink about 0.1-(-5)/130k = 40uA of current.

Here are some simulation results if you want proof: