Measuring angle

Hello world , I am an arduino newbie . I am trying to make an ABB robotic arm (http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTOhFD6D6RgeiaTJC3rhUsjRUPaWpyWBZ9HKmIpo4UMdLmsHPmFAQ) follow my hand movement. Now the robotic arm can move along 6 axis, and the robot arms takes angle (in degrees) as the parameter for movement. I was thinking of using analog hall effect sensor. I would attach hall effect sensor to my elbows and a magnet to my arm. Now the varying readings from the hall sensor will be used to measure the angle moved by the arm along its elbows. I just want to know whether i am on the right path. If not , any suggestions from you guys regarding how to measure the angle of hand movements, will be deeply appreciated. I am on a tight deadline here guys . Please help

I just want to know whether i am on the right path

No, I'm sorry, that doesn't sound like a good idea. The Hall effect switch will be affected by ambient magnetic fields, and so repeatability will suffer.

If you're building an ABB arm, don't ABB provide the feedback mechanisms?

Also you don't get much of a range from hall sensors, in the order of a cm or so.