Measuring hit location and velocity

Hi there,

I want to make a project where I have a grid comprised of some number of of 6" by 6" squares, where a ball is thrown at it and it detects (1) which square was hit and (2) how fast the ball was thrown.

The receiving device needs to be able to take a beating. I want to throw a baseball at it at typical baseball pitch speeds and have it not fall apart. For clarity, that means:

• A projectile that is 72.64–74.68 mm in diameter (2.86–2.94 in) with a mass of 141.75 to 148.83 g (5.00 to 5.25 ounces)

• Thrown at speeds up to 44 m/s (about 99 mph)

In order to make this cheaply, I was thinking of using a piezoelectric impact sensor attached to the back of each square. However, as I'm new at this I had some questions I was hoping somebody here could answer:

• Would piezoelectric film or the little enclosed disc "elements" (as seen on adafruit) be better to use?

• I'm hoping to be able to make each square out of leather. Can I simply attach the piezoelectric sensor to the leather directly, whether stitched or adhered in some other way? I'm planning to put the sensor on the back of the square so it's not being struck directly.

• Would the sensors in this case be durable enough?

• Can I derive speed accurately based on the force of the impact?

• Anything else I should be aware of, or alternative suggestions?

An alternative I was thinking of was to use a 2D grid of IR sensors (a horizontal set and a vertical set) along the inner borders of a square to be able to measure the location of a passing ball, and I figured it might be easier to measure velocity this way as well based on how long the IR sensor beam detected an obstacle. However, this seems like a significantly more expensive option, with each sensor at $15 instead of like $1 for each Piezo element.